Thailand visa exemption giving the right to visit Thailand visa free for up to 30 days was recently granted to seven new countries. Starting from 14 April 2019, citizens of Latvia, Lithuania, Andorra, San Marino, Ukraine, the Maldives and Mauritius will no longer need to apply for Visa on Arrival but will be given visa free entry to Thailand.

Thailand Visa Exemption Available for 7 New Countries

Confirmation of Visa Exemption

The resolution of the Cabinet related to an update of tourist visa exemption scheme was issued on 20 November 2018 but was not effective for few months as it had to be announced in the Royal Gazette first to come into power.

On 15 March 2019 the resolution was finally confirmed and Thailand visa exemption was granted to the citizens of LatviaLithuaniaAndorraSan MarinoUkrainethe Maldives and Mauritius. The law comes into effect 30 days after confirmation, so visa won’t be needed for travelers from these countries who will be arriving to Thailand from 14 April 2019 onwards.

If you will be entering Thailand before that day, you still need to apply for Visa on Arrival (free until 30 April 2019) or get single-entry or multiple-entry tourist visa from Thai embassy or consulate in advance.

An updated list of countries eligible to use Thailand visa exemption can be found here: Thailand Free Visa-Exempt Stay.

Required Documents

Tourists who are planning to use Thailand visa exemption scheme at the time of the arrival to Thailand need to present these documents to the Immigration officer:

1. Passport valid for at least 6 months

2. Thailand Arrival Card (learn how to fill it correctly: Thailand Arrival Card – How to Fill Arrival Card Form)

3. Proof of funds for traveling – 10,000 THB per person or 20,000 THB per family in any currency (they rarely ask for it but it’s better to be ready)

4. Proof that you will be leaving Thailand within 30 days (requested in rare cases)

Visa Extension

When using Thailand visa exemption scheme, you can extend your stay in Thailand for additional 30 days. You need to apply for an extension at one of Immigration offices in Thailand. Your stay can be extended once and it costs 1900 THB.

New Visa on Arrival Countries

Thailand Visa on Arrival that can be acquired at the time of the arrival to Thailand and lets tourists stay in the country for up to 15 days was recently granted to five new countries. Starting from 14 April 2019, citizens of GeorgiaMexico, Vanuatu, Nauru and Russia will be able to apply for Visa on Arrival at Thai airports and border crossings.

More information: Thailand Visa on Arrival Available for 5 New Countries.

Discover travel tips
Follow us
Contact us
We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.